A frankly fantastic 30th

Leave a comment
Eating out

The other day I turned thirty. I feel pretty okay about it, a lot of things seem to improve with age. One of those things is that, compared to when I turned 20, my income has risen and now allows me to celebrate in style. For me, this means eating and drinking.

Therefore, my birthday was the perfect opportunity to try Frank Bistro, a small restaurant in my hometown Västerås. As I said, it is small and pretty popular so I had made the reservation months in advance. They have this concept where you order either meat or fish and nothing else. You’ll then be served two starters, one main course and one dessert, chef’s choice, along with wine to each course. Maybe nothing for the really picky, but if you’re interested in food and trust the professionals to know their business, it’s great. For starters I had lobster salad with oyster mousse and a truffle risotto, my main course was Iberian pork with Jerusalem artichoke and a sauce of chicken stock. The dessert was chocolate cake with a hazelnut mousse, meringues and sea buckthorn sherbet.

Sex in my mouth.

I mean, it was like they had looked in to my brain and found everything I love and put it on a plate. I don’t know what else to tell you. It was probably my happiest birthday ever. My only regret is I was so high up in food heaven I forgot to take pictures of anything else but the wine. That and that I didn’t ask them to write down the menu for me. It would have been a great read for later.

Posted by

Malin Ågren is a copywriter living in Sweden. Food is her number one hobby.

Leave a Reply

