How Tuesday wining led to Meat free Monday

Leave a comment
Staying in

I like meat. There, I said it. I like meat a lot. Always have, probably always will. That doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate vegetarian dishes, though, and my ambition is to eat something completely meat free at least once a week. To be honest not necessarily on Mondays, but whenever I feel like something fresh and light.

Back in college, my friends and I started this Tuesday dinner-tradition. Every Tuesday, one of us would make dinner for the others and we would down a bottle or two of very cheap (since we were poor) red wine and talk vividly about life, men, career, gender roles and how we would change the world and break patterns and really, really matter (since we were drunk). Two of these friends were vegetarians, which meant I had to get very creative so that, come my turn, I wouldn’t serve the same mushroom risotto every time.

Years have passed since these Tuesday dinners but I still see my friends whenever we can coordinate our schedules and locations. We still down a few bottles of wine (but now it’s more focused on taste and less on price tag) and have the same discussions (but now with a more realistic and less idealistic viewpoint). I’ve kept on with the vegetarian food too. Last week, I made this delicous egg plant dish. You cut an egg plant in half and bake it in the oven for about 20 minutes, then you scrape out the inside and sear that with some onion, add a can of chopped tomatoes and some salt and pepper and let it boil for a few minutes. Then you fill the egg plant shells with the mix and top it with feeta cheese and basil and bake it in the oven for just a little while longer. It looks beautiful, smells great and tastes fantastic. Turns out, green comes in a lot of colors.

Posted by

Malin Ågren is a copywriter living in Sweden. Food is her number one hobby.

Leave a Reply

