Friday night bites

Leave a comment
Something sweet

I’ve discovered a major flaw in the whole calendar-system. Are you ready for it? OK, here it comes: there are at least two Mondays for every Friday. There must be, I can’t find any other explanation. Now I don’t exactly know how it works, because on paper it looks right, but I wake up to a Monday a lot more often than I wake up to a Friday. I sense some kind of cosmic conspiracy.

This may not be very original, but I love Fridays. Who doesn’t, right? When I was a kid, Fridays were a day for celebration. On Fridays, my dad would come home from work in a great mood and put a record on. BB King or Pink Floyd or John Lee Hooker streamed out of the speakers in the living room and made the floor in my room vibrate in sheer weekend-happiness. My parents made something special for dinner and we would eat in the dining room, and my brother and I were allowed to go down to the pantry in the basement and pick out one soda each that we would drink devoutly. The whole world seemed like a much happier place on Fridays.

The Friday celebration is still an important part of my weekly routine. On Wednesday or Thursday, I start looking through my cookbooks and try to decide what I want to eat, then best case scenario I’ll do my grocery shopping before Friday afternoon (because grocery shooping in a busy store with OTHER PEOPLE is the best way to kill that fluttering weekend-spirit).

My Friday dinner doesn’t have to be fancy. If I’m tired after a long week, take-out is fine, or I’ll just try to keep my cooking simple. There are lots of delicous things you could make that doesn’t take that much of an effort but still feels a little bit more festive. (Key word: oven.)

Nothing says Friday like dessert, though, and last Friday I made this blueberry and whiskey ice cream with cardamom crumble. Unlike many other home made ice cream recipes I’ve tried, this doesn’t get that frosty texture. I don’t have an ice cream machine so I just mix all the ingredients and pour it in a tin form and it still gets really creamy and smooth. The whiskey might sound odd, but it adds a little sting to the sweetness of the blueberries. (Plus I think it’s a sign of maturity to put liquor in your food instead of just drinking it). (Tomorrow’s Friday y’all!!)

Malin’s eating is now on Instagram at malinseating and on Facebook at facebook.com/malinseating

Posted by

Malin Ågren is a copywriter living in Sweden. Food is her number one hobby.

Leave a Reply

