All fired up

Leave a comment
Something sweet

I did it! I flambéed something! I put a few pears in a pan, poured some Grand Marnier on it AND PUT THE WHOLE SHIT ON FIRE! This is bigger than conquerring my fear of the steak, ballsier than the Wellington, more elaborate than making meringue. I made fire! On purpose!

Admittedly, I was nervous. We had been out to dinner and when we got home, I was really full already.
“I’m really full already” I said to my boyfriend “what do you say, do you want dessert or are you too full as well?”
“No, I can have dessert if you’d planned on it.”
“Oh, OK, well, I just thought, maybe it’s a shame making dessert if we’re too full to eat it anyway,”
“Then don’t make it.”
“But I had planned to. If I don’t, I’ll break my one new thing a week-vow.”
“It’s OK. It’s not a contract.”
“I know, you’re right. Let’s skip dessert, then.”
“OK.”
“But I had said I should flambé tonight. If I don’t do it now, maybe I’ll never do it.”
“Then make the dessert.”
“OK. I will. I will make the dessert. Here we go.”

Fifteen minutes later
“LOOK AT ME! LOOK AT ME! I’m putting food on fire here! … Oh, Jesus, are the flames supposed to come so close to the fan …”

The recipe is another one from Tina Nordström. You sear pears in enough butter and sugar to make a caramel sauce and then let them cook till tender. Then you add the liqueur and the fire and then you’re basically done. Just place your pears on a plate, top it with a chocolate mint, your caramel sauce and some grated pear. (No man, woman or animal were harmed in the making of this dessert. A dress, known as the Jackie O-dress, got permanent grease stains, though.)

Malin’s eating is on Instagram at malinseating and on Facebook at facebook.com/malinseating

Posted by

Malin Ågren is a copywriter living in Sweden. Food is her number one hobby.

Leave a Reply

