Don’t cry over a spoiled vacation

Leave a comment
Staying in

Even though I love cooking, there’s nothing better than being spoiled rotten every now and then. Like right now, for instance, when I’m vacaying at my former host parents’ house in North Georgia. Whenever I come over to visit it’s pretty much all about making me happy, which I happen to find very sympathetic. This includes food too. Well, mostly food, actually, since that’s a key ingredient to my happiness.

Last year, my host mom asked me to write a list of all the things I wanted to do when I came over, so I thought long and hard and came up with the following:

1. Eat pancakes for breakfast
2. Eat french toast for breakfast
3. Eat steaks at Nacoochee Grill
4. Eat something at Glenella’s
5. Eat hamburgers at Batesville Country Store
6. Eat ice cream at Dairy Queen
7. Eat Krispy Kreme doughnuts, optional location
8. Drink wine, any location
9. Drink drinks (not soft) at your porch
10. Go for a hike

I always feel a little guilty when coming with these demands though, because normally I’m not used to that kind of catering. However, it’s been ten years of this special treatment, so eventually I’ve learnt to give in and just cherish the moment. After all, only when I’m here does my world circle around questions like ”Where would you like to go for dinner?” ”Would you like pancakes or french toast for breakfast?” ”Can I get you a glass of wine on the porch?”. It’s like my vision of heaven: being surrounded by people I love while stuffing my face with one delicious thing after another AND I DON’T HAVE TO LIFT A FINGER. (While I write this, I’m on the screen porch, inhaling chips and guacamole while sipping on a glass of white wine. What can I say, decadence suits me.)

PS. I’m going to Nashville for a couple of days to listen to country music and eat (obviously), would be thrilled if any of you had any restaurant recommendations!

Posted by

Malin Ågren is a copywriter living in Sweden. Food is her number one hobby.

Leave a Reply

