Chop-chop, relax

Leave a comment
Staying in

I’m back home and back to cooking. Well, cooking in moderation, since I think summer is definitely the time to cut corners and cheat a little. This doesn’t have to mean turning to unhealthy fast food, there’s still plenty you can do to get a good meal without putting in too much of an effort.

Yesterday’s dinner was the perfect example: I bought one of those readymade tin trays of chicken that you just stick in the oven and then it’s done (I pressed some lime over it to feel like I at least seasoned it myself) and served it with roasted sweet potatoes and this delicious and easy watermelon, tomato, feta cheese, lime and mint salad. Although it needed an hour in the oven, effective cooking time, or chopping time since that’s what it was, was about ten minutes. Sweet potatoes are healthier than fries and more fun than regular potatoes and the salad makes the dish feel fresh and creative.

I love this kind of cooking in the summer since it gives me time to do other fulfilling things, like lie on my bed and read Cosmopolitan. Chopping, people, there’s your key to easy summer living.

Posted by

Malin Ågren is a copywriter living in Sweden. Food is her number one hobby.

Leave a Reply

