Seize the Monday

5 comments
Staying in

Monday, week two of work after vacation, driving home from the office. The weather glorious and our depression total. The downside of having time off is the contrast to when you don’t anymore, and as we sat in the car and realized the day was quickly fading, we began to feel stressed. Summer, as life itself, was slipping through our fingers.

“We should do something tonight! It’s still summer, we should capture the moment!” my boyfriend said.
“Yeah, we should! We should definitely do something!” I thought long and hard, especially on those chicken legs in the fridge that needed cooking.
“Well, we could go out to eat. I’d planned on making Caribbean chicken, but I think it’ll last till tomorrow” I said. I was already getting hungry and my budget had suffered a big blow this past weekend, but I was trying to be spontaneous and not let this get in the way of seizing the day.
“No, no let’s have the chicken if you’d planned on it.” My guy is a big chicken fan, and, as I’ve said before, very supportive of my cooking.
“We could go out for wine after dinner?” I suggested, feeling guilty for my compulsive cooking disorder.
“How about I run by the store and get a bottle instead? We could always go for a walk later.”
“Yeah, good idea! Let’s have a Monday celebration at home: dinner and wine!”
Life seemed a little shinier again at the prospect of doing the weekend acitvities already at the weekstart.

I don’t know, you people are probably a lot more innovative when it comes to seizing (what’s left of) the day than dinner and wine at home. I tend to get distracted by all the musts that comes with the boring logistics of everyday life, like mealtimes and dishes and laundry and, sad to say for a 30-year-old, bedtimes. Even though cooking is one of my favorite things to do, it does take away some flexibility because if you don’t plan ahead and start in time, you’ll end up starving and hysterical. I find that in between work and housework and sleep, there’s actually a very narrow window left for seizing the day. So I guess with this in mind, some Caribbean chicken and a glass of red with someone you love is a pretty good catch. Any given day.

Here’s how you make Caribbean chicken: mix 1 tbsp oregano, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1,5 tbsp sugar and 1,5 tbsp white wine vinegar in a bowl. Make a few cuts on the chicken legs and brush them with the spice mix. Season with salt and pepper. Put on a tray along with sweet potatoes, red onion and a couple of halved limes. Season with some more salt and pepper and drizzle the whole shebang with olive oil. Bake in the oven on a high heat for about 30 mins. Serve with mango sauce made of puréed mango, ginger, sambal oelek, lime (zest and juice) and, if you feel like it/need it, a glass of wine.

Posted by

Malin Ågren is a copywriter living in Sweden. Food is her number one hobby.

5 thoughts on “Seize the Monday”

Leave a Reply

