Home of the brave

3 comments
Staying in

My boyfriend and I bought a house. It’s very exciting and extremely terrifying. We’re both over 30, but I can’t help but feel that we’re way too young to be home owners. Having a house is for the real grown ups who’ve been grown up forever and always. Like your parents. I feel very brave for doing this and can’t wait to move in and all, but at the same time I’m not quite sure what to do with a house.

The house is out in the country, overlooking a lake and with apple trees in the garden. I see myself going for a swim from April to September and baking lots and lots of apple pies. It’s pretty much everything one could ask for in a house, albeit on the small side which means I will have to go through a serious process of throwing things out. It’s really pretty challenging. Who can tell if I ever eventually will need Titanic on VHS? Or the Titanic-soundtrack on CD?

Sometimes I lie awake at night, sweating while I try to figure out where we’re gonna put the vacuum cleaner. Other nights I have nightmares about the whole house falling apart the day after moving in, so we have to spend months living in a building project and millions of money on repair work. And then we’ll break up because of the pressure and then where am I gonna live?

One thing I’m really not worried about, though, is all the cooking I’ll be doing once we’ve settled in. Since we’ll be out in the country I figure there won’t be much else to do, and there’ll be no more rescue restaurants just a short walk from home. I’ll simply need to step up my game and I’m very excited about that.

This quick dish is a perfect moving house-meal since it’s also pretty cheap, which is nice if you’ll be paying a lot of mortgage for the upcoming rest of your life. Here’s how you do: slice and fry an onion and put it at the bottom of an ovenproof dish. Cut up some smoke-cured pork loin and put that on top of your onions. Mix chili flakes, soy sauce, lime juice, sugar and pepper and let it come to a boil in a frying pan, add some water to it so you’ll get enough juice. Pour the marinade over the meat. Bake in the oven for about twenty minutes, then top it off with lime zest. Serve with rice.

Posted by

Malin Ågren is a copywriter living in Sweden. Food is her number one hobby.

3 thoughts on “Home of the brave”

  1. Helena says:

    Så bra skrivet!

    Vardagen och livet kommer givetvis bli mycket annorlunda för er båda!
    Men jag tror det här kommer passa er bra!
    Ser framemot att få komma!
    Kram

    Like

  2. Congratulations on the new house..It sounds alike an amazing place to live in.. M sure you will blend in gradually.. 👍👍😊😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

