A matter of seconds

4 comments
Staying in

I made this wonderful, fresh, spicy, acidulous pad thai a while back, thinking it would be a homerun. Since my boyfriend’s spent a lot of time in Thailand and is known for his love for coriander and chili pepper, it was with pride and confidence I set the pan on the table. And then the man just had one serving. One. What a complete blow to the head.

My measurement of success in the kitchen is purely based on the size of the recipients plate. If the person spontaneously reaches out for another helping I can relax, knowing I did a good job. If he or she stops after just one plate, I start questioning my work, wondering where I went wrong. Should I have been easier on the salt, more heavy on the pepper, added sugar, omitted butter? (No, actually, never leave the butter out.) And if there are leftovers on the plate, I’m ready to throw in the towel for good and ever. No more cooking for me.

There are probably many good logical valid reasons why people might have a limited appetite every once in a while. Maybe they had a big lunch. Maybe they’re not feeling well. Maybe they just finished a big bag of chips before dinner and are too embarrassed to tell. Or maybe they just hate your food and wish they could have had takeout instead.

As I wrote this post, my boyfriend walked past.
“Wow, that looks great, when did we have this?”
“At your place, remember? That time you only had one serving” I said somewhat accusingly.
He looked puzzled, so I continued.
“You only had one serving, so I take it you didn’t like it.”
“What? Oh, no, that time. It was really good, I remember having a really big plate. I was full, that’s all.”

Hmm. Apparently maybe a good logical valid reason for not going for seconds is one could also be full after the first.

Here’s how to make a wonderful fresh, spicy, acidulous pad thai anyways: Boil a pack of rice noodles. Slice an onion and a red bell pepper and chop up a chili pepper. Fry in olive oil in a hot pan for a few minutes. Add bean sprouts, noodles, some fish sauce and a little sugar, mix well and let it fry for a couple of more minutes. Add about three eggs into the pan and let it set, it takes but about a minute or so. Then add shrimp and limejuice, mix it again and top the whole shebang off with coriander and chopped up cashew nuts. Serve straight away with lime and soy sauce.

Posted by

Malin Ågren is a copywriter living in Sweden. Food is her number one hobby.

4 thoughts on “A matter of seconds”

Leave a Reply

